When teams roll the ball down the court late in games, ------

-------- does the five second count still apply until the ball is finally picked up by the in-bounding team?

You have 5 seconds to in-bound it but does that stop as soon as the ball enters the court?

The count stops when it leaves the in-blunder’s hand.

I saw an article recently about how NBA teams take advantage of their similar rule to shorten the game. The clock is running but the 24 second clock doesn’t start until the ball is touched inbounds. So the guard stands over the ball, which may actually be stationary, until the defense forces him to pick it up. I believe Ja Morant does that in particular.

1 Like

This topic was automatically closed after 30 days. New replies are no longer allowed.