What was the deal...

With DVH and the plate ump when he made the pitching change?

He headed out. The ump appeared to stop him. DVH went back to the dugout and then returned to the infield talking to the ump the entire way.

Anyone know?

I have no idea. I’ve never seen that before. The announcers said something about asking permission. Maybe that’s required, but I’ve never seen an ump deny the coach timeout to go to the mound, especially when he’s clearly going to change pitchers.

Coach Van Horn had already made the motion to the bullpen and the umpire was sending him back in the dugout and coach just made it known to him that he has the right to change pitchers! Anytime!