What was that about?

Was listening to the Paul Finebaum show the other day and they had a caller from Arkansas. He was talking about the state of NCAA sports in general, how he thought NIL made an environment rife for cheating. And Finebaum made a comment that people do indeed suspect that, and acted like it was general knowledge that a lot of people think Arkansas is doing that in basketball. Not that we are doing that, just that a lot of people think that. Anyone know what he was talking about? Just the usual baseless sour grapes other fans have when another school does well in recruiting?

Anxious to hear a reasonable response. In today’s environment, and with what A&M is doing in football, doesn’t NIL generally take away the “cheat” in recruiting? Pay what you can afford, above the table, seems to be the way to go.

I have zero inside knowledge but it would surprise me greatly if we aren’t taking full advantage of NIL to land our recent basketball classes.

Well it’s only natural for people to think
that when you are not used to getting 5*and you all of a sudden get 3 in one class. And pretty much every big time player gives us respect and most are genuinely interested now.

1 Like

I believe that NIL plays a much bigger part of the recruiting process for football than for basketball. High 4-star and 5-star football recruits are looking at a minimum of 3 scholarship years before the NFL dollars become available.

In basketball, 5 star players are looking at just 1 year (in their minds, at least). There are quite a few 5 star players like Nick, who said publicly that an NIL program would not play a part in his choice of schools. The coach and a good chance at conference and national championships were primary in his decision. He said this well before he committed to the Hogs. I believe Jordan and AB were of the same mindset. Plus, playing with Nick helped in their choice.