What causes athletes to be injury prone?

Aloha,
Hopefully we have some medical experts on the Board who can explain what causes particular athletes to be injury prone while others are not. In any sport but especially football. Are they more reckless with their body? For example Catalon? Or is it perhaps more than that? Brittle bones? Diet? Lack of quality sleep? IDK but would like to know.
UA…Campus of Champions

1 Like

I’m no doctor by any means and I’m not sure there is a right answer for that. I’ve seen players play with absolute reckless abandon and never ever get hurt other than just typical soreness and bruises and things of that nature. Then I’ve seen some who look like Tarzan play the exact same way and we’re always hurt. I think with Catalon this last injury was just a bad break on his part because he didn’t hit anybody he just landed with his arm extended and he either tore his rotator cuff or he’s either got hyper extension or dislocation that supposedly will have him out for the year. I don’t think there’s any way to really tell why some people get injured more than others though, I do know stretching is incredibly important to lengthen and strengthen the muscles and I’m not sure how much of that the players do but it’s probably not enough.

Flexibility matters for sure.

Doesn’t apply here, but I have read that the anatomy of the female knee predisposes women athletes to ACL tears, and you sure see a lot of those.

This doesn’t crop up much (or shouldn’t), but some antibiotics are associated with a much higher incidence of things like Achilles tendon ruptures.

1 Like

So true. Don’t know the percentages but I would say women suffer more knee injuries than men.

If someone knew that, they would avoid it, right?

DNA, the genes, baby!