Vanderbilt Outplayed Us

Plain and simple. Their timely hitting and solid pitching games 1&3 were the difference. Todays pitcher was awesome and kept our hitters guessing. We didn’t barrel up many balls today. I’m no expert, but I wonder if our guys are trying to HR every swing instead of making solid contact for hitting for average inside the park? I’m not giving up on this team bc they are talented…maybe it’ll click in post season

3 Likes

The hogs fail in the little things!

We are an all or nothing offense. We either hit some home runs or we lose. We are not skilled in the little things that an offense does to win when the home runs don’t come.

They don’t seem to hit well when the wind is blowing in, that’s for sure. The wind shifted about midway through that rain delay yesterday and blew in from left field the entire game. We had the windows open in the press box and it was constantly gusting in our face.

The leadoff centerfielder for Vandy was amazing, he’s like a video game, if he gets on base you might as well write it down as a double or a triple because he WILL be stealing a base, also he took several doubles away from our hitters with his speed to the alleys.

1 Like

With his speed, Bradfield will be on a fast track to the majors. Turner was right on the money with some of his throws this week. Bradfield is just too good. That’s why he’s 40 for 40.

3 Likes

He reminds me if the base stealwrs of the 80s. Willy Mcgee, Vince Coleman, Ricky Henderson, Tim Raines, Willie Wilson, Ozzie Smith

Just amazing speed.

1 Like

Vandy seems to seek and find more of these good hitting, fast on the base paths and athletic in the field (mostly black) than we do. I am sure DVH tries to get them too but it seems Vandy is better at that than we are. Having someone who can turn every bunt or bloop single into a triple or double with their base steeling is a huge weapon. Would love to see one of those in a Razorback uniform some day.