The Summer of 1990

It was 30 years ago, but I still remember a lot of things about the summer of 1990.

I’m a teacher, and it was the summer after my first year of teaching. I lived in El Dorado at the time. My mornings during those days would always start with reading the newspaper. I’ve always been a “news nerd” and even wrote for a newspaper before I taught, so the morning newspaper was like coffee to me. I had to have it. (I have since given up the newspaper, getting news in the many other ways now available.)

I subscribed at the time to the Arkansas Gazette. There were still two statewide newspapers at the time, and the Gazette is the one my family had always taken while I was growing up, so it’s what I subscribed to. There was only one problem: everybody’s favorite sportswriter, Orville Henry, now worked for the Arkansas Democrat. (He had written for the Gazette when I was growing up.) So I would find myself going to the library to read the Democrat, or often just walking down the three or four blocks from my apartment to the local Brookshire’s to buy a copy out of the rack in front of the store.

In late May of 1990, sometime after the SEC spring meetings were held that year, Orville Henry began writing about the fact that Arkansas and the SEC might be interested in each other. The Hogs were coming off back-to-back SWC football championships under Ken Hatfield. They had lost a highly entertaining Cotton Bowl to Tennessee just a few short months earlier. Arkansas wasn’t a large state, but the Razorbacks had a pretty well-rounded athletic program that could be a credit to any conference.