The NCAA is a......

Joke…IMO…since I have no insider knowledge or connections with coaches/players or college administrators I’ll write how it looks to a fan who is sick of hearing about the cheating/illegal activity from institutions of higher learning.

• The NCAA is not interested in cleaning up college basketball. They give it lip service so they can say they are all about integrity. But when they have the chance to show others (see North Carolina) they are serious - they crumble. Of coarse they nail BYU. Shows me who they punish.

• Both our recruiting guys and now national media say there are schools that offer $$ kids/family/handlers for committing. Not that it’s ever been a big secret. But with Will Wade being taped the national guys say everyone knows it happens and he was stupid to get caught. If the NCAA wanted to fix this they could. Plenty of money to find gain support from recruits/parents that would be willing to out programs who offer $$. IMO the blue bloods of the sport keep the $$ rolling in from March Madness and the NCAA is VERY reluctant to go after those schools.

• I’m sure what seems so simple to me is much more complex for the NCAA. But from an old dude from South Arkansas it seems to me that IF they wanted to clean it up they could/would. However that’s like turning yourself in for a crime.

• And paying players to play won’t solve the mess (although there is an argument to give them more stipends). Folks will still find ways to get bag men/recruits together.

• And no matter what is done…cheaters will find a way. But VERY harsh penalties can make all coaches/administrators and boards think twice about there integrity.

Sorry for the useless rant. I just finished my second cup of coffee and I’m done.

Ole LD