SI's Andy Staples on why the NCAA will not punish

the Baylor Bear football program. And I think he is absolutely right. If you are pissed, read at least the last paragraph to find out what you can do to change NCAA rules and regulations to cover these types of incidents.

https://sports.yahoo.com/news/why-ncaa- … 41562.html

One argument is the PR hit will punish Baylor to the point it hurts recruiting in all sports. It has to a certain extent, but not where it probably should.

I’m not a lawyer, but you really hope the lawsuits bring more accountability and exposes the coverups and any legal wrongdoing where people can actually see some jail time. If some of the stuff is true about the Baylor and Waco police, then some should get fired or prosecuted.

The NCAA overstepped its bounds at Penn State. It will tread lightly with Baylor.

But Baylor is going to hurt from this. Some parents won’t want their children - athletes or otherwise - going there. Enrollment and philanthropy will drop, and it will lose a lot of money in Title IX and other lawsuits. The Big 12 has already said it will withhold a quarter of Baylor’s revenue share next year. There also is the public relations hit that will take years from which to recover.

I agree Richard, there will be further regrettable fallout from known events.

Women’s basketball hasn’t been affected at all. 2016 class had three 5-star recruits sign. 2017 class had one 5-star; two 4-star and one 3-star recruits.

Didn’t check any of the other program rosters.

You would think it should affect women’s sports there the most. Even a top tier women’s bball program like Baylors. One of the victims was a female volleyball player. As a parent I wouldn’t want to send my daughter there to play any sport.

The American public forgets quickly. It may dent the sports programs recruiting slightly, but I think it will be minimal.

We will definitely see how it turns out.