RIP to the GOAT

Bill Russell passed away today at 88

2 Likes

Also a very entertaining play-by-play analyst for quite a while after he retired.

Wow, I remember those days when Russell seemed to own Chamberlain.
I do think the NBA was more a team game than it is today and Russell was the master. RIP sir.

3 Likes

A true class act. RIP, Mr. Russell.

1 Like

He was Awesome!! RIP Bill!

Watched the Celtics as a kid, were my favorite. I remember when he was in his later playing years, he became the player-HC and they won another NBA championship. No free agency in those days, you built your team and developed by playing together for a long time.

RIP Bill Russell

2 Likes

RIP. A true legend

Bill Russell definitely never subscribed to “shut up and dribble.” He was always very vocal about social issues, even 60 years ago.

Russell AVERAGED 22 rebounds per game. For his career.

1 Like

When I was a freshman at Tulane, in 1968, Bill Russell came to speak. My hero. The guy who played basketball and life the way it should be played. Not for personal glory, prideful as he was, but to win as a group. Large auditorium, but only a few dozen students showed up, because basketball was not that big at Tulane or in New Orleans, and Russ wasn’t playing anyway, just talking. As if he had nothing to say. I was stunned and dismayed at the size of the crowd. But Russell graciously invited us all to come up, sit around him, and ask any question we wanted. The first one was if he had to name a team of the best players he had played against, who would be on it. He said he’d answer the question, and he did, but only if that was the last basketball question he was asked, because he was a human being, not merely a basketball player, and it was an insult if we thought basketball was all he knew. And then he answered questions on all kinds of other subjects, kindly, thoughtfully, and often with his trademark cackling, infectious laugh.