Reminded of a flagrant foul call that went our way

After the Florida guy got tossed for popping Tennessee’s Fulkerson in the face, I did a search to see if a flagrant 2 foul gets the guy suspended for the next game (apparently not). But that search reminded me of a call that went our way in the 2017 NCAAT. Jaylen Barford was pushed from behind late in the first round game with Seton Hall, and on review the call was upgraded to flagrant 1. Free throws and the ball, and we held on to win. A lot of people screamed about the call, but the rulebook is pretty clear: If you push somebody from behind to prevent them from scoring and make no attempt to play the ball, it’s a flagrant 1.

I remember that. It was the right call despite not being the popular call.

This topic was automatically closed after 30 days. New replies are no longer allowed.