OTL Stocks and Bonds

Aloha,

I am assuming the Board shall slow down with lack of sports…so I will squeeze in with an OTL item. My thought is there is an incredible wide and deep level of knowledge of our Board members. From sports, military, medical, agriculture, finances, etc…
So, with the Stock Market Crash of 2020, why are Bonds and Gold also moving in the same direction as Stocks (down) for the week? Now maybe come Friday they will start acting normal again (Stocks and Gold generally run opposite of Stocks on big moving days).
But this is the first time I have seen this trend. Perhaps people are selling and holding the cash and not moving into Bonds and Gold. Waiting to invest when the Market surges back up?
What do our experts think?

I am not an expert, but my Money manager has had me balanced for many years and this is the first time this has happened that I can remember. It could be what you said as the yields on bonds have gone very low. The best thing to do is set still if you have a folio that suits your age and risk tolerance.

Everything is correlated right now. Few hedges working. As you’ve seen w all sports being canceled, a first, unexplainable things occurring everywhere, even financial markets

We’re buying. We bought some Beyond Meat stock about a week ago and getting out more out of savings to invest more in other stocks.

Time in the market is more important than timing the market. That’s a good adage that I always use in times like this. I’m about 70/30 equities/bonds, it’s what my portfolio manager decided on, based on my income needs, and risk tolerance. My dividends average about 4%, so, unless they all quit paying them, there is no need to job out of the market, I can’t get that for my cash accounts.

In times of crises, like a pandemic. Cash is king. Many sell stocks that are likely to be most hurt by the crisis. Hold the cash for reentry into the market at a later date. Always listen to the “Sage of Omaha”. That’s what he does.