OT: Cycling

How many of you ride a bike regularly? Where do you like to ride?

I’ve been piling up the miles on my road bike since the covid outbreak, mostly on our trails around Northwest Arkansas. I’m wanting to branch out and ride some new areas. I went down to Fort Smith recently and rode near Fort Chaffee. What are some other areas I should look into?

Any recommendations would be appreciated. I’m willing to drive some to try something different.

I’ve been riding mostly road bikes for 40 years, putting in 100+ miles per week this year. I don’t live in Arkansas, but when I have ridden there, it is the mountains that call me. Petit Jean, Mt Nebo and Mt Magazine are climbs that I enjoyed. I like the opportunities for miles and lodging atop Petit Jean and Mt Magazine. If I did live in NW Arkansas, it would be the less traveled country roads that would be my choice, or mountain bike on dirt roads.

1 Like

Ever consider getting a gravel bike? There’s miles and miles of gravel that lead to some great views in NWA. I used to road bike mostly and eventually got tired of dealing with closed minded drivers in our state. I started gravel grinding and really enjoyed it. The occasional stray dog can be a pest but nothing some pepper spray can’t take care of.

As far as an epic road ride, you might consider what we call the JD, Jasper Disaster. You can start at the Youth Center in Harrison, ride to Jasper, take a right and head up Mt. Sherman to Ponca and then up Hwy 43 over Gaither back to Harrison. It’s right at 58 miles and about 6000 feet of climbing. Tour de Hills has been doing this ride in late April every year.

1 Like

Great views, great way to take it all in, assuming your legs and knees are up for it. So many incredible sites
in the beautiful state of Arkansas.

1 Like