Not an attorney, but thoughts on this?

http://www.wholehogsports.com/news/2017 … rrassment/

Not an attorney either, but if the station posted his contact information and then started encouraging people to call…then they may have opened themselves up to having to pay up.

I am an attorney but not my area of law. I don’t know. The station didn’t release any private info (info that was available publicly even if they had to look for it). Did they encourage death threats, etc? I doubt it. Did they reasonable know it would happen. Yes, I think so. “Intentional Infliction of Emotional Distress” is a very interesting tort. Pretty new to legal theory (I studied it in law school 30 years ago, so I guess not that new, but still).

Courts haven’t liked a suit based on “Intentional Infliction of Emotional Distress” as a rule. But they haven’t all be losers.

It would be interesting to hear from some attorneys who practice that type of law.

Some states, including Kentucky, also recognize the tort of negligent infliction of emotional distress. Not sure if the lawsuit was filed in Kentucky or Nebraska. There will be fight over whether Kentucky or Nebraska state law applies, and whether a Nebraska or Kentucky court can hear the case.

If you can keep a UK law school judge or a jury full of Kentucky fans from deciding the case, then I would be a bit worried if I was the lawyer defending the station. The problem for the ref is that this case could take years to go through the legal process, and the ref may not have the financial resources or a lawyer willing to front the resources to see the case through to the finish, especially since this is not a slam dunk case for the ref.

It was filed in federal court in Nebraska.

can we use that same intentional infliction of emotional distress on marc curles for his call during that fla/ark game on the "mysterious"clip/holding or whatever it was? :sunglasses: