New Clubs

Clay got his & I got mine this week. Ping G-730’s that are “forgiving “ & not the blades. I hit 4 different brands & these were the best for me. I just am not as consistent in hitting smaller sweet spot anymore AND I lengthened my irons & hybrids an inch—AMAZING!! Who knew I was reaching/dipping & losing distance bc impact was on shallow/bottom grooves oh clubs?
Anyway, my first trip out I come into 18 at Squire 7 over after missing 10 foot putts on 16&17, but I yanked my tee shot into a terrible bunker lie. Should’ve laid up and played for par, but I played the hero path and carded a double after all said & done.
I haven’t broken 80 on my home course in probably 5-6 years mainly due to poor iron play. Now I know I can do it again. Just need some practice, which is problematic here now bc heat index getting up there.
Hope is a great friend to have again in golf!!

1 Like

I have been playing Ping G 30s for five years now and am ready for an upgrade. I want to stick with Ping family and the G 730s are some I am strongly considering.

Get fitted properly. It makes a difference. I hit Pings, Calloway and Titleist plus had hit Taylor Made last year. Pings 730’s were the best for me based on track man and my feedback on ball flights and feel.

There are lots of great new clubs. I am a big fan of the Mizuno family. I tried four different heads with several shafts. The 2 degree up was a breakthrough. And I like the Nippon shaft.

I came close to getting the PXG irons. They are great, too.

I missed the TaylorMade demo. I know they are great, too.

My advice is to work hard with shaft fitting. And it can be different for a 3-wood and a driver. I ended up with a $200 upgrade on the shaft in the 3-wood over the driver. I would have got that shaft for the driver, too. But it did not work as well as one that I could pick without an upgrade.

That PXG 3-wood with the upgrade shaft was EXPENSIVE but I bomb it.