My Anderson rant.

As all of you know, I’m a Coach Anderson supporter. He walked into a situation that few coaches would touch. He cleaned up the program and returned us to some semblance of respectability. But that doesn’t mean I’m fully aware of Coach Anderson’s short comings. Like Nolan, Coach Anderson is a despite of Coach Iba. Iba coached in an era were the average height of the tallest player on the court being 6’5-6’7. That being said, I don’t believe Nolan or Coach Anderson has a fundamental understanding on how to recruit, utilize, or develop strong forwards or centers. Nolan had Corliss fall into his lap. And Coach Anderson had Portis and Gafford fall into his. Kingsley took almost a full four years to develop. Like Nolan, Coach Anderson seems to be infatuated with players in the 6’5-6’7 range. But the players they usually both got players that looked like they weighted about 160lbs and stayed that way until they left. For a coach that hangs his hat on great defense, Coach Anderson’s defense has been lacking. Rebounding is horrible. Three point defense is worse. When playing a decent point guard, his press gets shredded. At this point at Arkansas, Coach Anderson shouldn’t be rebuilding every three years. Yes, transfers and blatant cheating by other programs don’t help, but his recruiting should be better than this. Losing to teams that have equal or less talent is not acceptable. Will Coach Anderson survive? I don’t know. But if the AD does decide to replace Coach Anderson, he better have a home run hire ready to jump in.

Not trying to argue, but you might want to go back and look at what everyone (including the Mike “haters”) were saying about these freshmen when they committed. Funny how that changes during a disappointing season.

[quote=“bakedhog19741”]