Mississippi State and field goals

A lot of games in this series have come down to kickers. There have been two games that ended with final scores of 31-28 and a missed field goal as time expired — last night’s game and 2008 when Alex Tejada missed for Arkansas.

Some other games decided by kickers:

• 1993: Arkansas’ David Boulware missed a PAT after the Razorbacks went ahead 13-10 with 5:36 remaining, and Mississippi State’s Tom Burke kicked a 43-yarder with 1:03 left to tie the game 13-13. It was the last game either team played that ended in a tie.

• 1996: Todd Latourette kicked a 30-yard field goal to win Arkansas’ first overtime game 16-13. Mississippi State’s Brian Hazelwood missed a 37-yard attempt on the Bulldogs’ overtime possession.

• 1998: Hazelwood kicked his fourth field goal with 7 seconds remaining to win 22-21, essentially clinching the SEC West for the Bulldogs who held the tiebreaker over the Razorbacks.

• 2004: Elliott Harris blocked a Keith Andrews field goal attempt and Pierre Brown returned it 76 yards for a touchdown in the third quarter. That was the decisive score in a 24-21 game.

• 2015: Arkansas played conservative to run down the clock and Mississippi State’s Beniquez Brown blocked Cole Hedlund’s attempt in the final minute to win 51-50.

This topic was automatically closed after 30 days. New replies are no longer allowed.