Kentucky was just penalized for flying leap

Over the punt protection line. It was before the kick so Eastern Kentucky kept the ball with a first down.

If you remember the punt we blocked in the Sugar Bowl against Ohio State, that move is now illegal and that’s what Kentucky did. The rule makes sense from a safety standpoint. You could land on your head and break your neck doing that.

By the way EKU took it in for a touchdown after the penalty and is now ahead 7-3

Then Kentucky got called for an offensive targeting penalty. I don’t believe I’ve ever seen that before. The guy was kicked out of course. Some interesting calls in this game

I did not see the targeting play, but I’ve always believed targeting has to be called both ways where needed. Offensive players are capable of hitting an unprotected player, too. Not saying that call was a good call because, like I said, I haven’t seen it.