I think I would have fouled BUT THIS

is why most don’t.

This is ridiculous.

https://twitter.com/gottliebshow/status … 68993?s=21

https://twitter.com/gottliebshow/status/1061752292934868993

I bet Mike Anderson has won 90% of the games that he decided not to foul in a similar situation. Because if he wasn’t winning he would change it.

As a coach I would foul based on how I feel about my team and the opposing team at that particular time.

This would not be an issue if Adrio had played the right defense. If in your face goes in, let it be.

The thing is that in the end of game situation the Hogs found themselves in against Texas handled differently by fouling would require the opposing team to have multiple things go right for them to have the opportunity to tie or win the game outright and by not fouling in this situation the opposing team only needs one thing to go right to tie the game.
If the foul is made and you put them on line they have to first make the first free throw shot, intentionally miss the second while contacting the rim with the second shot and getting an offensive rebound on that missed free throw and then make another shot quickly.
I personally like the scenario where multiple things need to go perfectly for the team that is down by 3 points rather than the scenario where the team down by 3 points just needs one thing to go their way.
To me, the percentages of having multiple things being executed to perfection against the the percentage of one thing being executed in the favor of the team down by 3 points is an easy decision.

Go Hogs!

Not sure what the right approach is, but if you look at Mike’s teams, even with the quickness we have, we seemingly lose the three point shooters a lot. I know that much of this is gambling, switching and doubling teaming, but wonder if part of the issue is we don’t depend enough on straight up man to man, so at critical times we are not as sound as we need to be.