I am not a doctor

But I have been to a few, slept in a Holiday Inn Express, and have a National Championship ring (sorry, Jimbeau. I just couldn’t resist, lol). Seriously though, I sell cars for a living, and tax season is typically our busiest time of year. Not this year. Inexplicably, people this year are buying toilet paper instead of cars. It just seems to me that this coronavirus hysteria is way overblown. As of this post, 62 Americans have died from this, in a nation of 300 million. The Surgeon General himself said that 98 to 99% percent of the people who contract this disease will recover. I watched an interview with a woman in Seattle that had the virus, and is now recovered. Her advise…don’t panic. Yet, that’s exactly what we are doing. As ArlingtonHog said so well, and in a nutshell, we are killing our economy and way of life with this gross overreaction. He brought up 2009 and the Swine Flu. Yes, Americans died from it, but most of them were susceptible to dying from any virus. 30 thousand Americans have died this year from the common flu, and do every year. I am not a fan of the man, but Obama didn’t cancel events and put people in quarantine in 2009, and as Arlington said, most of us don’t even even remember the 2009 Swine Flu. My point is, this seems like a massive overreaction, and it feels politically motivated. The powers that be, even if they don’t agree with it, are forced by fear mongering to cancel gatherings and events that are going to cripple our economy. HY, himself, said that he didn’t understand cancelling the College World Series in March. Again, 98 to 99% of the people who contract coronavirus will survive. What are we going to do next spring when the next virus appears? I don’t know, but I sure do miss my sports, my paycheck is taking a beating, and it just feels like the world has gone mad. Apologies if I’m wrong and we all die, but I just don’t think most of us will.

2 Likes