Hypothetical question

Maybe a dumb one.

Say an LSU player takes a long 3. It’s an air ball. JWill catches the air ball.

It’s not really a rebound. It’s not really a steal. But if the air ball shot had been judged a pass (maybe an alley-oop attempt), would that be different? If JWill gets inside position and cuts in front of the possible alley-op recipient, is that a steal?

Does JWill get any stat at all if it’s just an air ball? Is there a scorer’s decision?

I had that same thought
Scorer’s decision I would think
To me it’s a rebound

It would be a quick trip to the bench if LSU player played for Muss.

1 Like

I THINK it’s a rebound.

If it’s judged a shot, it’s a rebound. The box score has to justify. Same number of missed shots as rebounds. Air balls are shots.

This topic was automatically closed after 30 days. New replies are no longer allowed.