High school reunion (50th)

I am in Little Rock for the 50-year reunion of the LR Central High class of 1972. I have never been to any of the other reunions. I think there may have been two or three. They were always on a fall weekend. I tried to get Jean Ann to join me, but she has dog sitting duties (our lab and Becca’s lab). She wouldn’t know anyone because I haven’t maintained any ties to my classmates through the years.

She was mildly nervous about any possible old girl friends and was pleased when I wore my wedding ring for the first time in about five years. My ring knuckle has been swollen (assume it is swelling from old age) and it’s not easy to slide it on.

I did not have any serious romances among my high school classmates (although did date a girl from North Little Rock). So she does not have anything to worry about.

Interestingly, I went to the 50-year reunion of the 1970 state title basketball team a few years ago. I was a sophomore on that team. I was amused in that three or four cheerleaders attended. They were seniors when I was a sophomore and I considered them quite attractive back in the day (and very much unapproachable by me). I told Jean Ann they have not aged as well as she has. She reminded me that she is five years younger than them and two years younger than me. She was 21 when we married and I was 24.

There is a dance tomorrow night. I don’t recall going to any high school dances so don’t know what that was like. I did go to a few dances at UCA when disco was the rage. Gosh, it’s hard to recall 1972.

5 Likes