Hicks and Starkel, Starkel and Hicks

First, I played every major sport in high school and college (NAIA level) except football. So, I’m not experienced as a player or coach, but am a fan and somewhat of a student of the game.

My question is, after watching Hicks (6 quarters) and Starkel (2 quarters and 5 minutes) playing in this system, how could CCM and our OC choose Hicks to be our starter? Hicks is in his 4th year in CCM’s “system”, while Starkel has 6 weeks playing in it. Yet, to my untrained eye, the offense was sharper, more up-tempo, and moved the ball better under Starkel. The offense actually looked like an “offensive system” under Starkel. Once again, I’m novice when it comes to football, but for me, with Hicks running it, my eye saw slow sluggish offensive movement without tempo.

Even I can see a world of difference with the way the football comes off the arm of Hicks vs Starkel. There’s really no comparison. Before we got to see each in action, I believed what I read, that with Hicks’ experience he needed to start. Now, after seeing the difference, I question (why?), with the extreme talent difference. Shouldn’t our coaches have seen this if I and so many other fans seemingly have seen it?

If Starkel had started yesterday, It probably wouldn’t have made a difference in the outcome of the OM game, but it just might have. If he’d started both games, it really might have made a difference.

I’ve been Team Starkel since Day 1.

I kind of understand why Hicks got the first start - here for spring, their guy at SMU, yada, yada, yada - but in the small amount of practice we have seen and the people I trust who are inside practice - Starkel is the dude.

I will be shocked if Starkel is not named the started for the next…SHOCKED! CCM gave Hicks his opportunities and not it is Starkel’s turn and with the next 2 games on schedule a perfect opportunity to get into a rhythm with the offense before we play the Aggies.