Gators' Keyonta Johnson collapses on court

Carried off on stretcher. In hospital in critical, but stable condition.

Dang that’s terrible, hoping he’s going to be alright.
Heart issue or?

They didn’t say. I didn’t see it, but the announcers said he was just walking on the court following a time out and collapsed on the floor. Certainly doesn’t sound good.

There’s footage of him walking towards mid court and he falls face first on to the court. He supposedly had COVID over the summer. If it’s heart related which I’m guessing it probably is, this could change how schools do things after a positive test.

My have to do some checkups following a positive test. Who knows he might of had some undetected heart issues before COVID.

2 Likes

I hate to speculate, and I’m no doctor, but my immediate thoughts were of a stroke. To go from perfectly normal and having just completed a dunk, to out on the floor and immobile, seems very stroke-like.

My Mother had a major stroke several years ago, and the way my Dad described it, reminded me of this. The difference was she didn’t lose her mobility immediately, but lost her cognitive abilities immediately. She was sitting in the passenger seat of their car, right after carrying on conversations with my Dad. Amazingly, after a year or two of therapy, she regained most of her speaking and cognitive abilities. She was in her late 70s when this happened.

Now, at 95, she’s pretty slow going from thoughts to orally expressing them at times, but can usually get them out in short order. I’ve been her care giver for nearly 8 years now, since my Father died. She’s really pretty healthy for 95 despite some holdover cognitive problems from that stroke.

Hopefully, at 20 years old, if indeed it was a stroke, he can regain all of his physical acumens in short order.

The following was posted yesterday in another thread by one of the doctors on this board. His initial reaction was: