Elander is ...

… my preference for Vitello’s replacement. Yeah, I can imagine the concerns - young, inexperienced, a lot of things not (yet) on the resume… But I think you could do a lot worse than Elander as an up-and-comer who has SERIOUS upside potential. I have to imagine that as a recruiter he would have an immediate rapport with a ton of recruits. As a hitting instructor I think he’s ready for the job already. Previous articles have been very high on him. He seems to have an outstanding impact on the players both during the games and later. I’ve hired more than a few folks in my day and with the intangibles and proven skills I see here it would be hard for me not to go in this direction as this one has all of the right instincts that appeal to me.

Van Horn has incredible reach and contacts throughout the baseball world. I have no doubts he will come up with an A+ replacement. My guess is that Vitello and he have had conversations about when Vitello should accept one of the numerous offers that have come his way. Yeah, Van Horn is probably narrowing down his short list already.

I’m good with whoever Van Horn chooses. Go Hogs!

The lack of recruiting experience makes it to where I don’t think he’ll be a candidate.

I would not be surprised to see Elander end up at Tennessee in some capacity now that Vitello is the head coach there. It’d be much easier for him to get his foot in the door there as an unexperienced recruiter than it would be at Arkansas for multiple reasons, one being that Vitello likely is still going to be on the road quite a bit, at least at first.

I agree with Matt. I think that DVH will try to hire a proven, top-notch recruiter. Whoever that is may only last a few years as Vitello did, but they can contribute.

What about Chris Currie at Little Rock? He is a former volunteer assistant or GA.

I don’t think it will be Chris. He seems to be happy where he is as a head coach.