Does anyone remember

Who the Shoats were? Extra points if you know and you’re under 40.

I know but I’m old

2 Likes

Me too…

Ditto

1 Like

I know, but I’m (nearly) older than dirt.

Extra credit question. Who were the Picadors?

Forgot about the Shoats, what was the last year they played?

Yep. But I’ve been calling the Hogs since the late 50’s.

about 77-78 or somewhere around there i think

How about the Madhatters?

1 Like

Use to go watch the shoats play often, but then I am way too old. I also remember the Mad Hatters. I bet Shelby does too.

1 Like

We didn’t have a freshman team, but I remember a bus ride with the JV team (also called the Shoats) to Miami OK to play the junior college team there. We got waxed. I think that was the last outing for the Shoats, probably 80 or 81.

Picadors were Texas Tech’s freshmen.

I watched them play one game when I was a freshman myself in 77
Had a guy from my HS team who played
Think it was in a Friday afternoon, maybe Thursday?

It was definitely midweek. I think our bus trip to Miami was maybe a Tuesday.

I remember going to a Shoat’s game at Tulsa (early 60’s), the year the Shoats went undefeated. Many on this team made up the National Championship team. I believe Joe Ferguson also played on a Shoat team.

The most pressure I ever felt was after a trip with the Shoats to Skelly Stadium in the fall of '72. I was helping in the SID office and assigned to call in a report to the newspaper. That was easy. After that I was told to call Frank Broyles at home and give him a report. He asked a question about darn near every player who made the trip. I wasn’t sure if some had played or not. There were no cell phones in those days, so I made the call from the press box and then found the bus (about to leave).