Clay, Jimmy, Matt, Football gurus ?

Someone on another board jokingly picked TCU by 14 in OT. So, it led to a discussion. I said it’s possible. TCU gets the ball first, scores a TD and goes for 2. That’s 8. Then AA throws a pick six, that’s 14. Is the defense allowed to return for a TD or is the game over as soon as the ball is intercepted? Can a team actually win by 14 in OT? Serious question

It’s highly unlikely, but I suppose it could happen. Even if the first parts of the scenario happened (TD, 2-point play, and returnable interception), the TCU coaches would be screaming for him to get his butt on the ground, at which point the game is over. Because if all of this happened, then the intercepting player fumbled and we recovered and advanced it for a TD, the game would continue and might lead to another overtime if we also made our two point play.

I found a list of overtime scenarios from the rule book online; it did not include this scenario. However, it did include this one: Team A scores in the top of the first overtime and goes for two. Team B intercepts the 2-point pass attempt or recovers a fumble. The ball is dead at this point; Team B cannot return it for a two-point score. The NCAA website was down at 3 a.m. when I was doing this search, so I could not actually look up the applicable rules.

The play is not over until the whistle is blown. Why? The return man could fumble and the offensive team could scoop and score. So yes, you could have a two touchdown game in OT. But, you could not get to 14. The extra point would not be attempted. I think you could have the 8-point start for the first offensive team, but I haven’t seen that before. There’s a lot of risk in leaving it too easy for the second team to win with just 7 points.

Yes, it can happen in the scenario you laid out. Most coaches would just tell their players to get down on that interception.

In reading the NCAA rule book, I’m not so sure if the ensuing touchdown on the interception return would be counted. The rules specifically outline that Team B (the defense on first possession in first OT period) can score on a return, but doesn’t say anything to the effect that Team A (offense on first possession in first OT) can return for a TD. Would Team A forcing a turnover on D in actuality be a second possession in that first OT?

I have personally seen the officials automatically blow the play dead on the second team’s turnover with an interceptor running free.

Of course that doesn’t mean it was called right. I can name numerous times when I have seen plays blown dead, or clocks allowed to run in error.

Just sayin. I bet they would blow the play dead, whether right or wrong.