Badgers’ Whitten embraces contact

Hard Hittin Donovan Whitten!

As I posted in another thread yesterday, I watch the streaming video of his games (I’m an Arkadelphia grad). Kid has a big arm, and I would describe him as a KJ type runner; he’s not super fast but nobody wants to tackle him in the secondary, and he’ll definitely truck people.

His record as the starting QB is 19-4, and their nonconference schedule is always bigger schools; this year they beat three 5A schools. Shiloh knocked them out of the playoffs last year in a 57-54 shootout in Springdale.

Probably more AJ(Derby) than KJ, but he sounds like a football player. Get him on the hill and the right position will eventually find him.

I remember watching him play LB as a sophomore. Defense is pretty optional in Arkansas high school football (same is true in NC from the scores I saw this year for the four local schools) but he’d hit people.

Yeah these spread Offenses are exposing slow footed Defenses. I saw a high school game earlier this year that ended up 82-36 despite a running clock for the entire second half.

Arkadelphia is averaging 46 points a game and has mercy-ruled its last seven opponents. They had to score on the last play of the game and make a 2-point conversion to beat Hot Springs in week 2; since then they’ve destroyed everyone. Whitten has played very little or not at all in the second half since the Hot Springs game.

When I was a junior at AHS we reached the state finals and had a damn good team led by future Hog signee Trent Bryant. The most points we scored in a game was 31, and we won a playoff game 7-6. Boy have times changed.

My sophomore year in 74, we won the final game of our season 3-2! Coach Gas would have been aghast at our Power I, three yards and a cloud of dust Offense.

Yikes!